Teaching Social Media 101 at Johnston Community College This Fall

Summer’s just now beginning but I’m excited to announce that I will be teaching an intensive hands-on approach to Social Media in a workshop series at Johnston County Community College’s Small Business Center evenings this fall.

The workshop will be centered around the first of four sessions where we’ll dive into the background of social media so as to prepare students for the three sessions coming right after.  Those three will be hands-on intensive with each student actually setting up their social media profiles & accounts in one (or all) of the following areas: Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, You Tube, and Flickr.

The facility at the Johnston Community College Small Business Center is top notch.  We will be utilizing both a lecture classroom and a computer lab to help move JoCo into the Media 2.0 world.

More details will follow as the summer continues on.  Be sure to keep watch of their Fall course schedule and if interested, follow instructions for registration.  The workshop will be limited to 15 participants so as to have a 15:1 student/teacher ratio.

I’m excited!  I’ve been wanting to do this for a while.  Special thanks to Rosa Andrews, Director of the Small Business Center, for assisting me with getting this workshop going.

Stay tuned!

9 Comments

Filed under News

9 responses to “Teaching Social Media 101 at Johnston Community College This Fall

  1. Jennifer

    This is great news! Congrats!

  2. I’m so happy for you, Lisa – what an exciting opportunity! If I wasn’t already registered for classes this fall, I would certainly have signed up. Good luck and many, many happy returns!!

  3. Congratulations, Lisa! This is a great gig. You deserve it!

  4. Thank you, Ladies! Like I said in my post, I’ve been wanting to do this in JoCo for some time now so I’m really thrilled. Still only part-time but hey, it’s a start!

    Jen N…would’ve welcomed you in my class. 🙂

  5. Tim Arthur

    That is great news! I’ve been wanting to start something related to teaching parents how to talk to their children about social media, and help then teach children how to navigate the social media landscape in a “safer” fashion.

  6. Thank you, Tim!

    What you wish to do is just as important. I wish you the best of luck putting that project together. Let me know if you need some help, or perhaps we can collaborate.

Leave a Reply

